Day 74 – Edgard Varèse – Ionisation

Without Skyscraper no Flex-Able, without Flex-Able no Frank Zappa, without Frank Zappa no 20th century classical music. Now thats what makes Skyscraper such an influential album to me.

Frank Zappa in The Real Frank Zappa Book:

After shuffeling through the rack and finding a couple of Joe Huston records, I made my way toward the cash register and happened to glance at the LP bin. I noticed a strange-looking black-and-white album with a cover with a guy on it who had frizzy gray hair and looked like a mad scientist. I thought it was great that a mad scientist finally made a record, so I picked it up – and there it was, the record with “Ionisation” on it.

After reading that I myself had to listen to this “mad scientist”. Now twenty years later I’m still listening.

YouTube: Ionisation, German television recording

Een gedachte over “Day 74 – Edgard Varèse – Ionisation

Geef een reactie

