Day 45 – Hector Berlioz – Songe d’une nuit de sabbat

In 1991 I went to the cinema with the girl who would become my wife to watch Sleeping with the enemy. There was a piece of classical music in that movie that realy striked me. So after the movie finished I stayed and watched the end credits to see who wrote that beautiful piece of music. (there was not such thing as IMDB in those days to look that up) Dream of a Witches’ Sabbath by Berlioz.

So the next day I went to the record store and asked for that. They didn’t know. So I checked all the Berlioz recordings and finaly there was the Symphonie Fantastique which noted a Dream of a Sabbath Night. Bought it, went home, listened to it, and almost at the end I heard what I was searching for: Dies irae. That small piece of music, almost 2 minutes, was the music from that movie.

YouTube: Symphonie Fantastique, Songe d’une nuit de sabbat

Geef een reactie

