Day 28 – Lonnie “the Cat” – I ain’t drunk

A song from the Theme Time Radio Hour With Your Host Bob Dylan album. Originaly aired in show #3: “Drink”.
No idea who Lonnie “the Cat” is, or was. The cd booklet of TTRH says I ain’t drunk is an outtake from a 1980 album. Google learns me it is recorded in 1954 by Lonnie “the Cat” with the Bobby Hines band including Ike Turner on piano.
Great lyrics here:

I don’t care what the people are thinking
I ain’t drunk, I’m just drinking

Albert Collins plays a fine cover of this song, but Lonnie “the Cat” has more high notes in his singing (almost screaming like a cat), more madness.

You Tube: Albert Collins playing I Ain’t Drunk

Geef een reactie

